Agrippa93 was founded as a solo project by digital composer and producer “Agrippa” in 2004. A long-time musician with a special interest in digital production, Agrippa began releasing original Industrial charged Metal songs exclusively through the Internet sparking online interest. With growing demand for live performances, Agrippa sought out other like-minded musicians to contribute creatively, refine the Agrippa93 sound, and expand its song catalog.

Guitarists Myk Dugan and Carlos Cabrero join in late 2008 steering A93 into a more guitar driven sound. The three collaborated in the studio to write what would become the Agrippa93 2009 full length release of the Beneath the Cypress Tree album. Just before the album’s release, Cabrero left the band to pursue other career interests. To support the new album with live shows, the two sought out additional musicians to fill in the needed gaps. Guitarist Galen Bessette (Bum Rush), drummer Alex Richard (Imperium Mortis), and bassist Joe Deep (Imperium Mortis) joined to transforming A93 into a live band for the first time ever. With the inclusion of live drums and bass replacing the programmed version of the Beneath Cypress Tree album recording, the sound changed and took on a more organic feel in the live performance versions.

A week after the first show, Agrippa93 was feature on the Connecticut radio station WCCC as the Homegrown band of the week. This included radio play of the songs City of Pyramids, Evocation, and Face of Fear along with an interview with Agrippa. Shortly after the second show in September of 2009 at the Webster Underground, Bessette expressed interest in focusing on his band and parted ways leaving A93 without a second guitarist. Growing animosity in the band ending in both Dugan and Deep soon after, leaving only Agrippa and Richard remaining. Agrippa93 was put on hiatus until further notice.

Toward the remain months of 2009, long time friend and cowriter of the Agrippa’s Laboratory song Ashes, guitarist Scott Williams joined A93 as a major writing force in the band. Williams brought with him Will Richard (Imperium Mortis), brother of Alex Richard,  whom he had taken on as a student. In early 2010, bassist Rich Fern joined filling the 5th positions needed to complete the band.

The 2010 lineup marked a new direction for the band as a collaborative music force embracing a shift from an industrial dominated sound toward more Progressive Industrial Metal. Described as “a conglomeration of Megadeth, Dream Theater, and Rammstein”, Agrippa93 produced signature sounding music, such as “Longing for Silence” and “Pale Horse”, which later appeared on the 2012 full length album release, Dichotomy.

At the end of the summer of 2012, turmoil within the band stirred resulting in all of the members going their separate ways. Rather than rebuild a full band for Agrippa93, founding member, Agrippa returned A93 to its roots.

In its latest incarnation, Agrippa93 reinvents itself by returning to its original vision: A unique Industrial-infused Metal sound like nothing heard in the Connecticut live scene today. A93 draws influence from Metal bands such as Fear Factory, Megadeth, Black Sabbath, Fates Warning, Alice In Chains, and melds Industrial influences from KMFDM, Nine Inch Nails, Ministry, and Celldweller.

With almost forty songs in its catalog dating back to 2004, Agrippa93 is bringing to surface new versions of songs never before performed live as well as redefined tracks from both the Beneath the Cypress Tree (2009) and Dichotomy (2012) albums and new A93 songs. Live shows, performed by founding member, Agrippa on vocals, keyboards, samples, and sequences, accompanied by backing tracks and video production and joined by guest musicians and personalities from the Connecticut Metal Scene each performing a song. Guest musicians who have joined Agrippa on stage include Doug Lenington (Fear the Masses), Sam Hatch (Sever the Drama), Martin O’Brien (Graven Image), Scott Williams (Graven Image) Rape Machine (Alcoholicaust), Ezra Langston (Alcoholicaust), Paul Spak (Priapism), Myk Dugan (Doomsday Machine), Paul Coleman (Graven Image), Tim Smith (Shallow Ground) and The Bagman (Darkitecht, Nation of Decimation), Steve Rose (Head Wrench), Knob (OFNR), Mike Gliniak (Our Own Destruction), Mike Simmons (Darkitecht), Brian Dodd (Head Wrench), Will Richard (Imperium Mortis), Keith Pearson (She Walks Without Legs). Another live version of the music called “Static Lineup”,  includes guitarist Steve Rose (Head Wrench) and bassist Brian Dodd (Head Wrench) performing all the songs for the set.

Agrippa continues to write, record, and release new Agrippa93 songs like “Dead Inside”, “Chains of Choronzon”, and “Into the Deep”, which will be included in an upcoming album. He is also working to redefining songs from the earlier years (2004-2008), such as “Open Wound”, “Scorched Earth”, “Priest of Thebes” and more for a future compilation called Strict-9 Revisited.

Over the years Agrippa93 has established a mark in the Connecticut Metal scene and has opened for a number of national bands including Fear Factory, Prong, Queensryche, Arch/Matheos, Combi-Christ, and KMFDM.

Contact Information: